The Conran Shop Chelsea
The Conran Shop’s flagship store Michelin House was designed by François Espinasse and first opened in 1911 as a British home for Michelin Tyres. Created as possibly the grandest tyre manufacturer’s headquarters in history, the acclaimed Michelin House has become one of London’s most instantly recognisable buildings in the years since. First opening its doors to the world in 1987, The Conran Shop’s Chelsea store had always been a dream project for founder Sir Terence Conran, and now stands as a pure expression of good design, boasting a curated edit of contemporary classics and new and interesting work sourced from across the world.
Situated within the Brompton Cross area of Chelsea, the regeneration of Michelin House by Sir Terence Conran is considered to have heralded a revival of the area. An icon of the building’s original use, its Art Deco façade and characteristic stained-glass windows all pay homage to the iconic figure Monsieur Bibendum, more commonly referred to as ‘The Michelin Man’. Acquired by Sir Terence Conran in 1985, Michelin House underwent a fully restorative transformation to become the celebrated manifestation it is today, housing both The Conran Shop and Conran’s critically acclaimed Bibendum Restaurant, which takes its name from the famous mascot that adorns the building’s frontage.
Today, The Conran Shop’s flagship store stands at the centre of the rejuvenated luxury district and offers a carefully selected collection of furniture, lighting, kitchen and dining products, home accessories and gifts from some of the most iconic designers and most exciting new talent worldwide.